Notes on the journey of motherhood

Blogging for introverts: part two

tea for two

There are many issues with blogging for writers, the personal pronoun being one of them.

Imagine the possibilities when one starts to use the plural pronoun, ‘we’.

If this blog is a share house, then it’s with great pleasure I introduce Rhythm & Method’s newest resident, Contributing Editor, Gillian Harrison.

You can read Part One of this post here.

~

Working in early childhood is like peering at the world through a microscope.  Little children often reflect a distorted view of the Grown Up World and I’m often blown away by the insight they give me. A recent discussion with a group of four year olds revealed; “being alone means you have no friends” and  ”you are only alone if you are naughty”.  Somehow these very young children have mistaken alone time for loneliness.

I value my alone time. When ‘plugged in’ to my own space my little green battery lights begin to rise. Once recharged I emerge. I chat, laugh, share,  interact – I’m even good at being with people. For a time. Soon enough my little green lights begin to blink in warning. My feet begin to itch, my heart beats faster and I know I need to disconnect again.

Writing is a solitary act and I suspect that this is partly why I am drawn to it. Daydreams, ideas and wild playthings, the intangible imaginings that develop in an introverted place, require a vessel, a book or an invention, something concrete if they are to take form in the external world.

Is a blog simply another of these vessels?  Something to carry thoughts and ideas to the world? Writing a post is quiet but everything that follows is loud. The commenting, the promoting, the tweeting … As the owner of my own blog the loud outweighed the quiet and I responded like a true introvert; by getting the hell out of there.

But just as being alone does not equate to loneliness, introversion does not correspond to being anti-social.

Human beings come hard wired for intimacy. Social media may be changing the way we make connections but introvert or not, we still crave those connections. It’s like converting to solar energy, your house  still lights up, the power just draws on the  connection  differently.

The blogging world led me to connect with Karen. Strangely, the two of us have shared dreams and fears but never a pot of tea. I don’t even know how Karen likes her tea, or what sort of tea she drinks, a tiny fact I’d know about all my real life friends. You see, we’ve never actually met. But it would seem we’re on a similar journey, and through that journey we’ve forged a genuine friendship.

Sharing secrets with a stranger over the internet is fulfilling, if a little odd. Fulfilling because Karen’s path in small town Victoria reflected my own journey in small town Western Australia. A shared desire to write made my steps into blogging (and writing) a little smoother.

Authentic human connections stretch beyond photo-shopped photos and witty status updates. For me, ‘liking’ a post is not making a connection. Connections are made when people listen to each other, exchange stories and uncomfortable as it may be to do so, show vulnerabilities.

Blogging is a tool to be used well and I believe it is best used when it is shared, otherwise it just makes you tired.

Post by Gill Harrison

~

Gill and I live on opposite sides of mainland Australia, on entirely different coasts – Gill on the west and me on the south-east. And yet when we walk down to the shore, we dip our toes into water and feel connected. For this we have our kindred spirits and the internet to thank.

Welcome Gill! Gill and I will be posting a few times a week on writing and our writing journeys, and I’m sure you’ll like her and her posts just as much as I do. Perhaps two in-eys can make an out-ey?

7 Responses to “Blogging for introverts: part two”

  1. Kelly Exeter (@kellyexeter)

    I love that Gill is going to be posting here regularly too. Two of my faves in one place :)

    And Gill … if ever you find yourself in Perthtown – drop me an email. This fellow introvert loves getting to meet her online friends IRL :)

    Reply
    • Gill

      Thanks Kelly. I live in Perth now actually. I’ll send you through an email – would be cool to meet up!

      Reply
  2. gabrielablandy

    Powerful, that insight into how children view alone time. I too like to recharge on my own. it’s always lovely to read about someone else’s similar experiences – especially when they are so well articulated. Thanks.

    Reply
  3. thisisnotalex

    Loved the way you described recharging on your own. I spent years trying to convince myself I was an extrovert, because I thought introverts were the socially awkward ones. I’ve finally realised we’re not, we just need that seperation once in a while. How else would I get any writing done?

    Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,017 other followers

