That prams and art are not mutually exclusive.

How to overcome a spiky morning

I woke up feeling like I hadn’t slept at all. I could think of only one thing: a hot shower. When I saw that our downstairs shower was completely blocked, and had three inches of stagnant water sitting in the shower recess, I retreated to the upstairs bathroom.

It wasn’t until I was in the shower that I realised I had forgotten to bring my shampoo, so I settled on using the kids ‘3-in-1’.

Yes, there is such a thing.

I looked down at my feet, enjoying that they weren’t planted in three inches of waste water when I noticed who I was sharing the shower with.

The biggest surprise is I’m actually having a great hair day, even in these cyclonic pre-spring Melbourne winds. Who knew the soap-shampoo-conditioner combo was such a triple threat?

Tomorrow I’m off to the Melbourne Writers Festival to see Benjamin Law, Marieke Hardy, staff of The New Yorker, Sloane Crosley, Gideon Haigh, and as many others as the program will allow. I’ll be back here to blog about it next week.

Happy weekend.

9 Responses to “How to overcome a spiky morning”

  1. Kelly Exeter

    Gosh I wish I was in Melbourne for the Writers Festival. What a line up!

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  2. Cate Brickell

    my shower is similar – looney tunes character cups and a few barbie dolls… my kids don’t really like dinosaurs. I think I’m glad!

    Reply
  3. thesundrunkthepuddles

    We have the same bath slip mat thingy, same Dino three in one bath staff, and a bath full of dinosaurs and tiny cars. Throw in a handful of shells and that could be our bathtub.

    That line up is quite amazing. The Perth writers festival was good but doesn’t sound like it compared with the Melbourne gig.

    Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

